Before an environment receives a new deployment package, all existing environment resources are automatically saved as a snapshot before they are overwritten by those in the deployment package. A separate snapshot is created for each environment.

Snapshots of previous deployments are found on the Snapshot History page of the Settings menu in the Admin Console.  

From this page, you can rename a snapshot, deploy a specific snapshot to another environment or file, or perform a rollback to a selected snapshot.

Note: Multi Environment accounts are currently supported only in the web-based Interaction Designer.

Viewing Snapshot Content 

Click the link of a snapshot on the Snapshot History page to display the content of the snapshot. All Flows and Applications that were included in the deployment package are listed, as shown in this example:

 

Changing the Name of a Snapshot

 By default, snapshots are assigned the name snapshot, followed by the deployment number and a timestamp (e.g., snapshot -2-Thu Aug 25 09:38:27 UTC 2016). You can rename the snapshot to suit your needs:

  1. At the left side of the Snapshot History page, select the checkbox of the relevant snapshot to enable the buttons at the top right of the page.
  2. Click Rename. The Rename deployment package popup opens.

  3. In the New Name field, enter the name of your choice, and click Save.
    The popup closes, and the snapshot name will be updated on the Snapshot History page.

Deploying Snapshots 

Note: When you deploy a snapshot, all components are deployed to the Destination Environment or saved to the deployment file. If you wish to deploy only selected components of an environment, you should use the Environment-level Deployment Wizard found in the Account menu. Click here for more details.

Deploying a Snapshot to Another Environment

Only users with the role of Account Admin (or higher) can deploy a selected snapshot to another environment (except to unlocked TEST environments).

  1. Select the snapshot you wish to deploy and click Deployment Wizard at the top right of the page. The Deployment Wizard is displayed.
  2. To deploy the selected snapshot to another environment, click Deploy Environment:



    The Destination page of the Wizard is displayed.
  3. For our example, select the Test checkbox. (Note that only one Destination can be selected for each deployment.) Then click Next at the upper right corner of the page:



    Note: During this type of deployment operation, all existing resources are deleted from the Destination Environment. Complete Source Environment resources are deployed.

    The Summary page is displayed.

  4. The Summary page displays a list of all Interaction and Intent Flows that will be deleted when the deployment is performed. Review the list carefully before proceeding.

    In addition, the Summary page displays scrollable lists of all Flows and Applications that will be deployed. To search a list, simply enter a few letters from the name of the item you wish to find into the Search box.

    After reviewing the Summary lists, click Confirm at the upper right corner of the page to execute deployment:



    All snapshot components will be deployed to the Destination Environment. Upon completion, a confirmation message is displayed.

    Snapshot deployments also include unused environment resources. You can clean unused resources for a specific environment at anytime. Click here for details, found below.
    Note: If Environment Variables are already defined in the Destination Environment, they will not be overwritten. If Environment Variables are not yet defined in the Destination Environment, then the variables present in the Source Environment will be deployed as regular System Variables.

Deploying a Snapshot to File

Only users with the role of Interaction Admin (or higher) can export a Snapshot to a .zip file for backup or for use by another account.

  1. Select the snapshot you wish to deploy and click Deployment Wizard at the top right of the page. The Deployment Wizard is displayed.
  2. To deploy the selected snapshot to a file, click File Export:



    The Summary page is displayed.
  3. The Summary page displays scrollable lists of all Interaction and Intent Flows and Applications that will be exported. To search a list, simply enter a few letters from the name of the item you wish to find into the Search box.

    After reviewing the Summary lists, click Confirm at the upper right corner of the page to perform the export:



    When the export operation is complete, a download dialog is displayed.
  4. Click Download:



    The exported file will be saved to your Downloads folder.

Removing Unused Resources from an Environment

An unused resource is an element that exists in the Environment but is not currently referenced by any Flows or Applications.

Interact does not automatically remove unused resources from an Environment, in the event that these resources might be used in the future. However, you can choose to clean a selected Environment at any time in order to remove unused resources, as described below:

  1. From the Admin Console Account menu, select Environments. The Environments page is displayed:

  2. In the Clean Environments section, click Clean Unused Resources next to the Environment you want to clean. A dialog will be displayed showing all unused resources found in the selected Environment:

  3. Click Delete. The selected unused resources will be removed from the Environment.

Performing Rollback to a Previous Deployment

The Rollback feature allows Account Admins (or higher) to replace current environment resources with those of a previous snapshot. Rollback is most useful in the event that production defects are discovered.

  1. At the left side of the Snapshot History page, select the checkbox of the snapshot that contains the resources you wish to roll back to. The buttons at the top of the page will be enabled.
  2. Click Rollback. A confirmation message will be displayed:

  3. Click Yes. All environment resources are removed and replaced with the resources in the selected snapshot.

 

Revision:

Comments