An Interaction is a file that contains a visual representation of any workflow used in the customer service environment. Each block in the flow is called an Interaction step. Components and settings of the step are defined when the step is added, and can be modified afterward.
In an Interaction, the steps follow one another in the logical order of the workflow. The steps are joined together by lines called Connectors. A step can be connected to multiple other steps, depending on the complexity of the workflow.
In the following simple example Interaction, customers are presented with a question (Do the modem and computer have electrical power?). Customers then proceed in one of two possible directions, according to the answer they provided (Yes or No). Note the position of the Connectors in the Interaction.
Interaction Life Cycle
A typical simplified workflow for an Interaction life cycle is shown in the following figure:
Stage 1: Design Interaction
Using the Interaction Designer, a designer creates a new Interaction workflow. As the designer works, the Interaction is automatically saved as a private draft.
Stage 2: Publish to the Interaction Server
The designer publishes the Interaction to the server. The Interaction is then listed on the Interactions page of the Admin Console, and other designers can access it.
Stage 3: Test and Approve Interaction
Users with administrative privileges run the Interaction from the server for reviewing and testing purposes. If necessary, the designer modifies the Interaction (in the Designer), and republishes it to the server.
Following review and testing, the Interaction goes through the approval process.
Stage 4: Analyze Interaction Use
Following approval, the Interaction can be run by end users. After an Interaction has been in use for some time, reports can be generated that show patterns of Interaction step usage and real time measurements of Interaction workflows. If the reports reflect a need for improvement (e.g., the time spent on a certain Interaction step is longer than expected), change requests can be sent back to the designer. After the Interaction is edited (in the Designer), it is republished, tested and approved.
Interactions that are no longer relevant can be deleted from the server by administrative users.