A Flow is an object that contains a visual representation of any workflow used in an agent or customer service environment.
Interact supports various types of Flows, such as Interaction Flows, Intent Flows and Service Flows.
Each block in a Flow is called a step. The components and settings of each step are defined when the step is added, and can be modified afterward.
In a Flow, the steps follow one another in the logical order of the workflow. The steps are joined together by lines called connectors. A step can be connected to multiple other steps, depending on the complexity of the workflow.
For example, in the example Interaction Flow above, the customer is asked to: 'Please select the reason for the call' After a customer responds with one of the choices provided, the Flow proceeds logically in the direction of the customer's answer.
The Flow Life Cycle
The life cycle stages of a typical Flow are:
Stage 1: Design the Flow
Using the Interact Web Designer, a Designer creates a new Flow. As the Designer works, the Flow is automatically saved as a private draft.
Stage 2: Publish the Flow to the Server
The Designer publishes a new or edited Flow to the server. The Flow is then listed among the Resources that are available to the account so that other Designers or Admins can use or access it.
Stage 3: Test and Approve the Flow
The Flow is Shared or Run from the server for review and testing purposes. When needed, a Designer can modify the Flow (using the Web Designer) and republish it to the server. Following reviews and testing, the status of the Flow can be set to Approved, making it available to end users and protecting it from further changes.
Stage 4: Use, Analyze and Report on the Flow
Following Approval, the Flow is run by end users and statistics are gathered on its usage. Reports can be generated to provide real-time activity metrics and to help discover useful patterns of workflow usage. Should the reports reflect the need for improvement (e.g., the time spent on a certain Flow step is longer than expected), the Flow can be returned to the Designer for modification, testing and renewed Approval. Flows which are no longer relevant also can be deleted from the server by Admins.