When you create a new Flow, it is kept on the Interact server in private draft status, meaning that only you can access and view it. Publishing the Flow it public, so all users associated with your account will be able to open it from their Designer toolbar.
You publish a Flow whenever it needs to be viewed, tested or edited by other designers. You (and your colleagues) can then continue to make changes to the Flow, and re-publish it. Each time you update and re-publish a Flow, the Designer automatically increments its version number. Generally, only the most recent version of a Flow can be opened from the Designer. (For more information about working with Flow versions from the Admin Console, click here.)
Publishing a Flow
Before publishing your Flow, verify that it has been assigned a Start element. This element points to the logical starting point of the Flow.
- From the main toolbar, click Publish. The Publish dialog opens, displaying the name assigned to the Flow when it was created.
The following shows an example dialog when publishing an Interaction Flow:
Fields in the dialog will vary slightly, depending on the type of Flow.
- In the Name field, enter the name of the Flow as it will appear in the Designer and on the Flows page of the Admin Console.
- Although the Flow's internal version number is automatically updated when you publish or re-publish it, you can use the Version field to optionally provide additional version information.
- In the Description field, enter optional descriptive text that will appear on the Flows page of the Admin Console. For example, a short summary of the Flow's purpose.
- For an Interaction Flow, select the checkboxes for each Application channel type to be published. By default, all channel types are selected. To prevent users from running the Interaction Flow on a particular channel, clear its checkbox.
- Click Publish. A confirmation message is displayed. The Flow is made public, ready for testing or sharing by other designers or users.