In this mode, the Ticket Guidance application appears in a pane on the right side of the ticket interface. The look and feel of the application varies according to whether the agent is creating a new ticket, or updating an existing ticket.
Ticket Creation Mode
When a new ticket is created (before the ticket is submitted), the list of Interactions is displayed in the Ticket Guidance pane. As part of ticket creation, agents may select a relevant Interaction (and even begin to navigate through it), but selecting an Interaction is not required.
If no Interaction is chosen when creating a ticket, agents should make sure that the Stay on ticket option is selected before submitting the ticket. Selecting this option allows the default Interaction (configured in the installation settings of the Zendesk partner application) to be displayed when the ticket is viewed.
Ticket Editing Mode
When agents are working on an existing ticket, a single Interaction is displayed in the Ticket Guidance pane. Usually this Interaction displays information that is specific to the ticket and based on the ticket parameters. (This information is retrieved through a set of Zendesk system variables that are configured in the Interaction Designer.)
The specific Interaction that is displayed is determined according to the following guidelines:
- If no Interaction was selected when the ticket was created, the Interaction displayed is the default one configured in the installation settings of the Zendesk partner application.
- If an Interaction was selected from the list when the ticket was created, that Interaction is displayed when the ticket is opened for editing.
Whenever an existing ticket is opened, the relevant Interaction instance is launched at the page that was open when the ticket was last worked on. (For example, if the agent who had last worked on the ticket had reached the third step of the Interaction, that step is automatically opened.) It is not necessary for agents to manually save and exit the Interaction. If the Interaction instance is complete (the Interaction was finished), the History Flow for that instance is displayed when the ticket is opened.